top of page
Historic Bone Cabin Quarry
In 1897, the American Museum of Natural History’s paleontologist, Walter Granger, discovered a hillside outcropping of dinosaur bones going back to the Jurassic Period.
He named it Bone Cabin Quarry after the small shepherd’s hut built entirely out of fossils situated on a vantage point nearby.
The find was kept secret until more help came in 1898. By 1905, nearly 500 dinosaur bones were found.
When the last boxes of bones were shipped back East in 1905, Bone Cabin Quarry was abandoned.
The excavation area was only 7,500 square feet (700 m2).

American Museum party at Bone Cabin Quarry, 1899.
Seated, left to right: Walter Granger, Professor H.F. Osborn, Dr. W.D. Matthew; Standing: F. Schneider, Prof. R.S. Lull, Albert Thomson, Peter Kaison


bottom of page







